Writings on the Wall: Nurturing the Seeds


Like or Unlike it, Facebook’s presence in the cyber society is undeniable. Asked a question of whether it is a bane or a boon, I think it goes both ways. But ultimately, the answer lies with who uses it.

Just like other media form, we are constantly being exposed to various information and ideas in Facebook. Last Month, I decided to make a string of post called Writings on the Wall where I plan to write things that were inspired by what I see on my newsfeed. Basically, these are things shared by my friends and possibly, pages that I follow. Not all of these ideas are exactly positive or negative but they are interesting enough to evoke thought and emotion. Unlike my previous Facebook-inspired post, this one is just from a short quote that I liked.

“What a child doesn’t receive, he can seldom later give.”

I searched this line in Google and found out that it was a quote from the autobiography, “Time to Be Earnest” by P.D. James. I haven’t read the book and it is my first time to hear the name of the author. However, it is not the first time for me to hear the thought encased in that particular quote, albeit written differently. The sentiment in her words  is not difficult to “like”. It’s easy to look at this in a positive and hopeful light when I think of my own childhood and that of my wonderful niece and nephew.  Seeing them now, it’s hard to imagine that they will soon be in the same situation and predicament that we are in. They, just like the rest of us, will become full pledged adults in a few years.

Pondering on that particular quote made me think of kids as plants.

Well, not exactly like these horrible mandrakes, but in a more figurative sense.

Just like plants, they need to be provided with their basic needs like water, food, clothing and other necessities. Depriving a child of any of his basic needs can certainly be detrimental to his development. Unlike a badly treated plant though, a child does not just stay in one spot to wither away. Babies, kids, tots, schoolers, tweens, teens: no matter how many labels you put to them, they will soon outgrow these labels and be actual adults. Every person,  may they be heads of state, scientists, billionaires, philanthropists, teachers, artists, con-artists, felons, drug dealers, rapists, pedophiles and mass murderers, were also children once.

In one of my earlier post, I talked about how the things we read and hear about impacts the way we think and act. When I wrote that post, I was merely referring to the things we see on TV and in other forms of mass media. But in a bigger sense, those we experienced as a child play a larger role as to who we are and who we will become in the next years.Even as adults, we often find ourselves making decisions based on instinct and perception that were in some ways influenced by how we were brought up.

Imagine if all you learn as a child is how to survive from constant gun battle, domestic abuse and neglect. Given what the quote has said, what type of parenting are we to expect from adults who themselves had a difficult childhood (if they even have one to speak of). It would be very unrealistic for a country or a society to expect outstanding citizens if most of the children were not given the opportunity to grow up in a decent and peaceful environment. It is like expecting a plant to produce good fruits while leaving it to fend for itself in a dark corner.

We do reap what we sow, but this is all the more critical when we talk of people, children in particular. Instead of treating children and the youth as merely mouths to feed, we should be looking at them as the most profitable sector to invest on. If we are to equip each child with enough life tools while instilling kindness and humility, I think we have a better chance of having a society that is not only progressive but one that is determined to pay it forward on to the next generation.

2 thoughts on “Writings on the Wall: Nurturing the Seeds

  1. I love this post and I won’t reiterate everything you said because I basically agree to all of them… I would just like mention something which I remembered while reading your post.. My mom would often to tell me … before you teach a kid how to survive, teach him/her how to be human. 🙂

    1. Wow, that quote in itself is worth a post! The topic actually warrants a lot more discussion but it can take a very bleak turn sometimes. Parenting is quite scary, now that I think about it.

Ça te dit ?

