Move. Fly. Transform


airplane
This photo was taken by my sister on her way back to the Philippines. This is a “stolen” shot. I will have my very own later^^

Sitting, staying still is an activity we do quite a lot. As I type these words, my back is already feeling a bit numb from staying in the same position that I have been on for almost 15 minutes now. Tonight is a humid night, quite hot even. But as I refrain from making any type of movement, I can easily feel the occasional breeze. Tired from a day’s work and feeling full from devouring a sumptuous  home-cooked dinner, this particular moment seems to spells contentment.

But alas, we were never made just for sitting nor was our mind created to stay still. Even as I sit on this same place with a book in hand, my mind drifts into a place of adventure and wonder.

When I made the decision to study a foreign language, i was not aware of how big an impact it would be. No, it did not land me a high paying, jet setting career in an international organization, nor did I snag a french baron or anything of that sort. Little by little, a world entirely different from my own has opened. I started to learn about places and things that I have not known before.

As a typical nursing student in the Philippines, I aspired to go overseas so I can work and earn more money. Riding a plane and goin to some foreign land sounded fun, but only just a little. My mind was still set on things that was related to the actual work. The new environment, the people were just some notion that I never really considered when I dreamt of working abroad. My eye was still on the price. But as I reflect on my current thought on the subject, the idea is no longer that appealing. I can definitely say that my perspective on things has dramatically changed this past years. I am not saying that it has improved or that it has become less ambitious. I just recognize that there was indeed a shift..

I cannot singularly point to a particular event or occasion but I believe that much of it has to do with the people I’ve meet and friends that I have made  in the last few years.

Although my current job keeps me glued to my desk most of the time, I find that my mind has been quite fixated with the idea of flying both in a literal and a figurative sense. This was somewhat a departure from my previous mindset. The thought of being frozen to a specific spot now makes me feel a bit uneasy and restless.

Perhaps what also  fueled this wanderlust are the people I continuously meet, in real life and in the cyber space. Lurking around other people’s travel blog has really whet my appetite to dip my feet into big pool of wonderment.

*****

Just a few hours away from my first ever adventure into a foreign land, I am overwhelmed by several thoughts and feelings. This trip will mark a lot of first for me. This moment is so exhilarating, it is no wonder that a lot of people really get into traveling.

I really look forward to my next travel post, that in itself also excites me.

I’m all smiles right now, off to a new adventure. Wish me luck!

Sawadee ka!

—–

Click here for more Weekly Photo Challenge Entry

One thought on “Move. Fly. Transform

Ça te dit ?

