Writings on the Wall: Mockers and Martyrs


It’s kind of a bummer when you decide to “spend” time reading your Facebook news feed only to realize you have spent quite a substantial amount of time reading through countless posts and pictures. I think SPEND is an understatement, Waste is more appropriate. The good thing though is that I am constantly aware of that my friends are still eating decent food (they’ve got pictures to prove it) and that they are health and happy with their full set of teeth (and, yes A LOT of self-pictures can prove this). 🙂

Once in a while, a picture/ article catches my eye and flips a switch turning my mind from a passive onlooker to an over-analyzing mass of blob. Although some of them annoys me outright, I think I would favor them a little bit better than those “self-portraits”. At least my mind is also somehow stimulated. Now, I’ve got another source for a “Daily Prompt”!.

Tonight, I saw an intriguing posts from my news feed which I decided to write about.

This picture came with a long narrative but I think the general message here is that people, especially those celebrities who has mocked Jesus in public, will be punished in due time. Here is an excerpt:

John Lennon (Singer):
Some years before, during his interview with an American Magazine, he said:
‘… today we are more famous than Him’ (1966).
Lennon, after saying that the Beatles were more famous than Jesus Christ, was shot six times.

Christine Hewitt (Jamaican Journalist and entertainer) said the Bible (Word of God) was the worst book ever written.
In June 2006 she was found burnt beyond recognition in her motor vehicle.

Nowadays, I see a lot of similar posts which really makes my head ache. Religion is always a controversial topic. This post is not different. I respect all kinds of religion, but I must admit that I have very little patience for misleading statements and false logic. I know religion isn’t exactly the most logical thing in the world but …Mock God and you will die a painful and well-deserved death…

Huh? What?  Everyday, someone (good, bad, famous or not), meets a painful, tragic and untimely demise. It happened to saints and sinners alike. I cannot say if it was well deserved but I will be the last to judge. What I do know is that these types of fallacious statements are often very moving and effective. I just hope people would not be too quick to jump into such propaganda.

Do you believe that Jesus is Holy and His name should be Glorified and not Mocked?
If you believe in him, Click write Amen!

They even add this note in the very end. Not sure if liking, sharing or commenting on these types of post will earn me some bonus points with the Big Guy up there. I think I’ll take my chances and skip this bit.

Blasphemy is not a thing to be taken lightly, but I often wonder if God would count such post as something blasphemous as well since the argument used sounds awfully twisted and even somewhat cruel. For selfish reasons, I pray and hope that the God I believe in is a just and merciful one.

Ho hum.

Ça te dit ?

