Delicate: A Weekly Photo Challenge


Photo197

With my pets all grown up, I can’t imagine that they were so fragile and delicate once. Seeing my cat all bruised and battered from a street brawl after sneaking past our guard can be both frustrating and worrisome.

Five years ago, my lovely dog, Shin-chan gave birth to 4 puppies. One of them, Nichi (short for Shinichi), appears in this photo. Weeks before that, someone also gave us a new kitten whom we named Abu. We were supposed to name him ‘Abo’ which in Tagalog means ash but we thought ‘Abu’ sounded cuter.

I really love this photo of the two of them cuddling. We were actually planning to keep Nichi because we wanted Abu and Nichi to stay together.

They actually did in the end.

Shin-chan, died days later after giving birth. My mom and I still tear up when we look at her old photos. She was just an amazing dog. Nichi died a couple off weeks later due to poor health. (It was somewhat a consolation that Shin-chan’s other pups grew up to be well and healthy.)

I haven’t gotten over both of these losses, when Abu went missing. I was really worried that someone has taken an interest in him and kidnapped my kitty. Later, the same day, we found his body underneath a shed. Someone told us that there was a minor accident in front of our house which might have involved our cat.

I was really heartbroken to know that I was not there to rescue my little kitty. Seeing his lifeless body was so sickening. To see him so active one moment and dead the next really shook me..

Some people find it odd knowing how deeply we mourn for our dearly departed pets or how worried we get when they are sick or injured. It’s difficult to explain but for other pet owners, no words are necessary. I still feel thankful that even for a short time, they were able to bring joy and love to our home. Despite their size, the unfortunate events that happened to them left a very important reminder.

Life is really fragile. Life is delicate. And death…well, death is a lot of things. Most often, it catches us off our guard when it comes.

Just as life had been strange a few minutes before, so death was now as strange. The moth having righted himself now lay most decently and uncomplainingly composed. O yes, he seemed to say, death is stronger than I am. ~ The Death of the Moth, Virginia Woolf

6 thoughts on “Delicate: A Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. Pets are such a wonder…losing them is so sad but even though I have lost a few over the years i would never trade the sorrow i felt after…for there was so much joy before

    1. It’s really sad and traumatic. I remember, after her dog died, it took my mother a long time before she got another one. Makes me love my pets even more, knowing they won’t be here forever.

Ça te dit ?

